a US teacher – from the automatic earth – worth a read

Don’t get me wrong. While it may sound like it, I’m not complaining. Perhaps I will find such a lifestyle comfortable and fitting. The thing is, I didn’t choose this path. And neither are millions upon millions of middle class citizens who are watching their future plans disintegrate before their eyes. I didn’t plan upon living in a trailer in the woods of Northern Vermont. I didn’t expect my job prospects to evaporate in a haze of financial fraud and government duplicity. But my experience is in no way unique. We who comprise the American middle and working classes are getting poorer by the day, and the futures that we imagined for ourselves and for our families are fast becoming far flung fantasies.

Leave a Reply

