A grand day out…..

I’m booked to rescue-boat for the Secondary Schools Sunburst champs this week – it’s something I do every year. I love watching the improvement in skills, confidence, watching the friendships formed, find a few I enjoy meeting too.

Today was a washout-  30-knot gusts coming through, OK if it’s later in the week when they’re on their game, but it just puts them off to have a bunfight on the first day. To say nothing of the broken gear.

So I was home by 2pm, and we took the dog for the customary beach-walk. Got a fw hundred metes along the beach, and there’s a wee lump in the sand.  Blue Penguin (and they’ve always been my favourite at sea). Can’t stand up, shivering, still alive enough to snap at us though. No sign of dog paw marks of footsteps – it’s washed up, you can see the place where the water receded around it.

So, we picked it up, quoted the band No to DoC, and walked it towards the car. I felt it was getting warmer, ( we think it was moulting, the southerly chilled it) but just near the car, it spewed up, hung it’s head, and died.

Bugger.

So we saved the band, and the pengy is buried 800 feet up, which may have come as a surprise to the wee fellow.

Then we have progressed into a mellow tea/wine/talk with Ish and Nikki – heading away tomorrow.

I’ll go back to it  🙂

Hopefully the next four days will provide better sailing – I’ll report in as it happens. I’ll have Zeb on the boat tomorrow – nothing like a Border Collie to round up the strays – this will be his 4th year. Sometimes I think its good for the youngsters – if they’re a bit anxious, the sight of a dog grinning and wagging his tail close by, sort of reassures.

Leave a Reply

