a wee thread full of humour – no bad thing….

from Interest.co.nz

y Bernard Hickey | 07 Apr 11, 2:34pm

Mr  Westminster Any

1

Mr  Westminster

Any suggestions of which types of prime commercial real estate and where?

Hastings perhaps? Maybe a few packing sheds?

Only 50% gearing? Why not a bit more?

More profit that way?

cheers

Bernard

by Westminster | 07 Apr 11, 3:03pm

Bernard, I prefer to keep

0

Bernard,

I prefer to keep gearing at more conservative levels, but would go to 50% if the property was of very high quality. As for location, depends on whether we are talking office, industrial, retail etc. There are some very good industrial holdings in Hastings. Its a case by case analysis though really.

And may I ask what you would you do with your $34m if you won the powerball Mr Hickey

by Bernard Hickey | 07 Apr 11, 3:17pm

Mr Westminster Many

0

Mr Westminster

Many thanks.

Gearing not really my thing. Would love to live a debt-free life.

First thing I’d do is pay off my little mortgage (less than 1/3 of value of house we live in). 50% plus gearing sounds not all that conservative.

I’d keep my job!

Actually I’d probably invest a bit more in this little business we have going here. Growing fast already in a debt-free and profitable way, but there’s so much more we could do.

We’d love to employ a few more journalists, technologists and analysts here to keep the bastards honest.

And to have lots of fun talking about monetary policy, tax policy, investing theory, property markets, property markets and interest rates all day long.

And I’d put an awful lot in the bank. I wouldn’t put much in property.

And I’d even buy you a coffee Mr Westminster…

And a big bag of gummy bears for GBH

And a new pushbike for Powerdownkiwi

And a punching bag for Wolly…

Ah the fun I could have…

Need to buy a blinking ticket now…

cheers

Bernard

by Gummy Bear Hero | 07 Apr 11, 3:42pm

Thanks , big guy …….. And

0

Thanks , big guy …….. And if I win , I’ll get a hair-stylist for you , to  rid you of the Ken Barlow look .

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 3:51pm

    Hey Bernard ….what about my

    0

    Hey Bernard ….what about my camel…? have I not been a good and faithful servant…?

    Well that’s just bloody great..!

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 4:05pm

    Thanks PDK your a solid gold

    0

    Thanks PDK your a solid gold friend…..I just got to find out shipping and quarentine costs and hey ho …The Revolution is back on.

    I’m throwing out my oil lamp as we speak as a gesture of good something or other…!

    by powerdownkiwi | 07 Apr 11, 4:10pm

    I can just see you bedouin

    1

    I can just see you bedouin down for the evening.

    Humming quietly “Ahab a dreammmm…..”

    I’m told some of them kept polishing their……lamps, hoping someone would send Aladdin.

    They’d have likely been dissappointed – bet he was a fakir. We need turban that kind of thing.

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 4:34pm

    I’m keeping that one PDK a

    0

    I’m keeping that one PDK a beautiful piece…….and please …no more visualising me bedding down.

    by powerdownkiwi | 07 Apr 11, 8:50pm New

    aw shucks, Bernard, that’s

    0

    aw shucks, Bernard, that’s nice.

    But a push-bike would need gearing, and we couldn’t go there…….

    And I just counted up, there are more than 20 here already.

    Nice thought though…..

    THEN, FURTHER DOWN:

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 3:33pm

    Well I have always

    0

    Well I have always said…..that if I won lotto….and once again i looked around me to see all the poverty…..the unfairness…the unkindness…..the truly wretched…..

    I’d move so far away I’d never have to look at it again.

    by powerdownkiwi | 07 Apr 11, 3:53pm

    Back to Milligan,

    1

    Back to Milligan, Christov.

    “Money doesn’t buy you happiness, but you can be miserable in comfort”

    and

    “Money doesn’t buy you friends, but you get a better class of enemy”.

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 4:00pm

    So true PDK….so

    0

    So true PDK….so true……When we were first married in the Puritanical Church we were so poor that in the abscence of furniture I had to sit on a spike…….when a friend inquired where my wife sat….she replied “I sit on Christov as two spikes would be an extravagance.”

    by powerdownkiwi | 07 Apr 11, 4:03pm

    obviously she spike too soon

    0

    obviously she spike too soon

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 4:08pm

    She certainly spake before

    0

    She certainly spake before she was spoke in two

    by powerdownkiwi | 07 Apr 11, 4:11pm

    did you then ‘forever hold

    0

    did you then ‘forever hold your piece’?

    by Christov | 07 Apr 11, 4:30pm

    only before  I had to give

    0

    only before  I had to give her a spoking to.

    by powerdownkiwi | 07 Apr 11, 5:28pm

    We’ll be getting round to

    0

    We’ll be getting round to Spucking soon – you didn’t marry Patricia Bartlett, did you?

    The biggest NZ collector of illicit material – and the right to decry it?

    Or nun of the above?

    YOU GOTTA DO THESE THINGS, NOW  AND THEN, KEEPS YOU SANE….. (by which yardstick, one wonders……)

    HT to Interest.co,nz.

    Leave a Reply

