the fool on the hill – and on considering the source….

A feedback comment yesterday, suggested that I should read the writers profile. I hadn’t. I did.

Darius Guppy is obviously a less-than-desirable citizen, and doesn’t share my morals. Perhaps better put as: I don’t share his.

So?

Sure, you should always consider the source when considering the message. I remember reading ‘Twilight in the Desert’ with some skepticism, considering Simmons was described as ‘an investment banker in the energy sector’. It screamed ‘vested interest’.

The answer – always – is to consider the message, from first principles. Turn it (as Dad taught me to laterally-think) inside out, upside down and back-to-front. Research.

Simmons, in a long-winded way, was/is right. Guppy just happened to chime with my idea of ‘right’ too. On that basis, I referred to the piece.

As to ‘Why did he write it?’    That is an interesting question. He’s obviously not dumb. Twisted maybe, but not dumb. So – he’s either arrived at his hypothesis by intellectual process……………..or he’s projecting the message for a loaded reason.

There are two options there; he’s doing it on behalf, and that implies ‘of someone who stands to gain’. Investors, hedgers, spruikers, agents……  they’d have to be paying him, and I can think of several million folk you’d pay to do that first, before you’d trot out someone with so little cred.

That leaves the possibilities that he’s latched onto it because it suits a cranial grudge he holds against who knows who, or perhaps – just perhaps – he’s done some thinking in his time (and thinking is not the prerogative of those who hold the high moral ground) and come to the only big-picture answer there is.

If it’s a reverse process – that having limits-to-growth thoughts means one ends up living like him – some of my circle are in trouble deep.    🙂

Still and all, I’m with (am?) the Fool on the Hill. The eyes in my head see the world spinning round, and if I see a message which says the world is spinning round, I’ll gladly repeat it. Regardless of the moral code of the messenger.

But the fool on the hill,
Sees the sun going down,
And the eyes in his head,
See the world spinning ’round.

It’s a grotty day, one of the goats just arrived on the doorstep with a broken lead, and the chooks need let out – at least, if there are at least five eggs there. Other wise they can stay, writing fifty times I must not be so…0..0…0. Then in between showers, the glasshouse needs doin’.

Have a good ‘un.

 

 

second verse,same as the first….

this is Martenson – alle same as the previous writer.

http://www.chrismartenson.com/blog/death-debt/58941

a telling snippet:

“Then if we perform an exponential curve fit (blue line) and round up, we find a nearly perfect fit with a R2 of 0.99.  This means that debt has been growing in a nearly perfect exponential fashion through the 1970’s, the 1980’s, the 1990’s and the 2000’s.  In order for the 2010 decade to mirror, match, or in any way resemble the prior four decades, credit market debt will need to double again, from $52 trillion to $104 trillion”.

Yep.