Memories – are made of these

I’d like to thank a man (presumably it’s a man) I wouldn’t like, with whom I wouldn’t have anything in common, and who, at the end of the day, I regard as a social zero. He appeared trolling on Interest.co.nz, as predictable this distance out from an election (Labour appeared too with a Willie Foo Foo – read: working for families, and a long bow would say Tat Loo) and equally predictably they’ll vanish the day after it.

As usual with spinmeisters, they give nothing away, don’t actually debate, and always accuse you of being what they are (religious-like believer, etc). I first noticed the style with Shipley (was she the first echelon to be spin-coached?). The only valid way to counter them is (a) to do so, and (b) to be honest, and to refer to facts.

The smarter folk will see through them, you weren’t going to get to the dumber, and your conscience is clear – to say nothing of the fact that you’re not vulnerable (they have to be so careful when they start down the slippery slope of obfuscation, tangled webs tend to emesh the weaver sooner or later.

Anyway, he suggested I may be a bit negative, not so happy. It triggered a memory, which stayed with me through our evening and as I drifted off to sleep: Continue reading